Hidden Thoughts On An Empty Pathway

Posted in

As I’ve promised, I’m putting out some unreleased works. This one isn’t a ‘lost work’ at all because I finished mixing it only 2 weeks ago… But until yesterday night I was planning to never give it a chance to see the sunlight. I’ll try to make things clearer, a little patience will make you understand it a little bit :-)

It’s been a time I don’t make mixes just ‘for the sake of the sound’. I mean, I’m not creating sets only looking forward to its music content, but further: to the deeper meanings permeating the tracks. Basicly I start everything depicting an idea in my mind, and from this point I start choosing the right tracks and combining them to express that idea. So the music becomes a consequence of the process, not its main objective. [Not that I think that a ‘for-the-sake-of-the-sound set’ is soulless; I see room for both. In fact I’m already planning to make one mix in this style together with a good friend of mine, watch out!]

But this one went so far. It’s heavily subjetive, something extremely personal. So subjective that I created it without any plans of releasing it. So personal that I wondered for two weeks what I should do with it. But I ended up realizing that Voyager’s mission would never had started if it wasn’t released into the deep open space one day.

Would be hard for me to reveal what’s behind this mix. Doing that would go against its concept. But perhaps the biggest clue I could give is right on the set’s artwork. I couldn’t make a better description of it than that depicted on Salvador Dalí’s “Los Elefantes”. For all of these days I’ve been staring into this brilliant piece and it scares me to notice how it all makes sense. It is almost a picture of my vague, empty yet dreaming mindscape.

4heaven - Hidden Thoughts On An Empty Pathway


01. 4heaven - Intro: On An Empty Pathway
02. Teen Daze - Ice On The Windowsill
03. Skywide - If You Forget My Name
04. Skywide & Perspective - Structures
05. OMN - From Nowhere
06. 4heaven - Interlude: To Nowhere (A Matter of Probabilities)
07. Shlohmo - Things I Lost
08. Sun Glitters - Cosmic Oceans (Mountain Range Remix | 4heaven Short Dub Edit)
09. Mountain Range - It's Lonely Around People, Too
10. Hammock - Elm
11. Sigur Rós - Varðeldur
12. Two Bicycles - How Real?
13. 4heaven - Outro: The Golden Record

For an instance, you can stream the mix at Souncloud and better: download it @ 320 kbps and listen to it on a good bass headphone. I’ll put a Mediafire link here as well soon.

Soundwise, it’s another chilling compilation of dreamy ambient tunes crafted with gentle touches of ethereal nothingness. There’s no need to spend your whole time when listening to this mix trying to find messages within – come on, this is not a riddle. Just syntonize the right frequencies and let yourself to be guided through this empty pathway – that I quite know, can lead you to nowhere. But one thing I can assure: it will please your vaguest feelings.

I’ll be back soon with something hot.

Thanks for your priceless support!

Almerindo Lana aka 4heaven